Doris Kearns Goodwin

Become a Fan

Doris Kearns Goodwin is the author of the runaway bestseller Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln. She won the Pulitzer Prize in history for No Ordinary Time: Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt: The Home Front in World War II and is also the author of the bestsellers Wait Till Next Year, The Fitzgeralds and the Kennedys, and Lyndon Johnson and the American Dream. She lives in Concord, Massachusetts, with her husband, Richard N. Goodwin.

Photograph © Eric Levin

Books by this Author

The Bully Pulpit
No Ordinary Time
The Bully Pulpit Special Signed Edition
Team of Rivals
see more books by Doris Kearns Goodwin


New Year's Day, 1863: Lincoln signs the Emancipation Proclamation

Doris Kearns Goodwin, bestselling author of Team of Rivals, recounts the New Year’s Day when Abraham Lincoln, and his steady hand, signed the Emancipation Proclamation.